A liberal & inclusive church, seeking God through beauty in our worship, honesty in our faith & doubt, & service in our community

Music is a fundamentally important part of the life of Christ Church. We maintain a high standard of liturgical music in worship, led by a very capable, successful and active choir of around 25 singers, and we host concerts for both visiting and local groups. We would like to use the organ much more for concert work, but its recent poor condition has meant this hasn’t been possible. In early 2017 a large, heavy section of plaster fell from the wall above the organ, denting a large number of pipes, filling the organ chamber with plaster dust, and damaging some of the electrical components, making a lot of the instrument unusable.

For some time we had been considering a programme of work to replace and update some worn out parts of the organ. Rather than see the unexpected damage as a setback, we decided to take it as an opportunity to undertake both the repair and renovation work at the same time. The Christ Church organ has a venerable history dating back over 200 years. We want to pass on an instrument to make sure the church’s proud musical tradition can continue to inspire future generations.

We are therefore raising money to fund this work. If you are interested in supporting this project, please download our organ appeal leaflet to find out more. Thank you.


Upcoming Services

Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 26 Jul at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 29 Jul at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 2 Aug at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 5 Aug at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 9 Aug at 11:00am
Holy Communion (BCP)
Sun 12 Aug at 8:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 12 Aug at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 16 Aug at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 19 Aug at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 23 Aug at 11:00am
Wedding of Amie and Dominic
Sat 25 Aug at 1:00pm
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 26 Aug at 10:00am

Latest Events

The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 27 Jul 11:00am-1:30pm
Choir Practice
Fri 27 Jul 7:30pm-9:00pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 3 Aug 11:00am-1:30pm
Choir Practice
Fri 3 Aug 7:30pm-9:00pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 10 Aug 11:00am-1:30pm