A liberal & inclusive church, seeking God through beauty in our worship, honesty in our faith & doubt, & service in our community

There are three ways someone can join Church Council.

  • Ex officio members belong to council because they hold another position at Christ Church, such as church warden.
  • The majority of members are elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), which is held just after Easter. Elected members serve for three years and can stand for re-election if they are nominated again. One third of the elected members of council are elected at each AGM. 
  • Members can also be co-opted, meaning that the other members of council ask them to join for serve a particular purpose.

The members of Church Council for 2023-24 are as follows:

Ex officio members    
  Jane Nicholson Churchwarden
  Jonathan Stead Churchwarden
  Brenda Wall Deanery Synod representative (elected until 2026)
  Pauline Swaby-Wallace Deanery Synod representative (elected until 2026)
  Kara Maylor Curate
Elected until 2024 Judith Bishop  Lay Chair
  Malcolm Wall  
  Maggie Willans  
 Elected until 2025 Emma Elliott  
  Lucy Humbert  
  Carol Hussey  
 Elected until 2026 Morny Davison  
  Sarah Jones  
  David Rawlings  

Upcoming Services

Eucharist (in church & online)
Sun 23 Jun at 10:00am
Contemplative Iona Service
Sun 23 Jun at 5:00pm
Eucharist (in church)
Thu 27 Jun at 11:00am
Eucharist (in church & online)
Sun 30 Jun at 10:00am
Eucharist (in church)
Thu 4 Jul at 11:00am
Eucharist (in church & online)
Sun 7 Jul at 10:00am
Eucharist (in church)
Thu 11 Jul at 11:00am
Eucharist (in church & online)
Sun 14 Jul at 10:00am
Eucharist (in church)
Thu 18 Jul at 11:00am
Eucharist (in church & online)
Sun 21 Jul at 10:00am
Choral Evensong
Sun 21 Jul at 4:30pm
Eucharist (in church)
Thu 25 Jul at 11:00am

Latest Events

Capella Nova Choir - Rehearsal
Sat 22 Jun 4:50pm-6:30pm
Capella Nova - Concert
Sat 22 Jun 7:30pm-10:00pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 28 Jun 11:00am-1:30pm
Stories behind our favourite hymns
Tue 2 Jul 6:00pm-8:30pm
Electoral Polling Station
Thu 4 Jul 6:00am-10:30pm