A liberal & inclusive church, seeking God through beauty in our worship, honesty in our faith & doubt, & service in our community

As a proprietary chapel, Christ Church is not obliged to have a parochial church council (PCC). Indeed some of the Trustees’ responsibilities are necessarily those normally handled by a PCC.

For many years, however, the Trustees have limited their responsibilities to those described here, and have given authority to “Christ Church Council”, a group elected by and from the members of the congregation at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) to manage the week-by-week activities of the church. This gives the congregation a democratic voice in the operation of Christ Church.

Council typically meets six times a year and discusses issues relating to the day-to-day running of the church and wider topics about the future direction and vision for the church. The dates can be found in the online church calendar. Church Council has a regularly updated work plan, which describes the topics to be discussed at each meeting during the year. This ensures all aspects of church life are discussed on a regular basis. You can see the current work plan here.

You can use the links below to find out more about the members of Church Council or to read minutes of council meetings.

If there are any issues you'd like council to discuss, please use the Contact Us link on the left to make your suggestion.

Finally, please pray for council and its important work.

Upcoming Services

Sung Eucharist
Sun 19 Aug at 10:00am
Rowena Hall's funeral
Tue 21 Aug at 11:30am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 23 Aug at 11:00am
Wedding of Amie and Dominic
Sat 25 Aug at 1:00pm
Sung Eucharist
Sun 26 Aug at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 30 Aug at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 2 Sep at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 6 Sep at 11:00am
Holy Communion (BCP)
Sun 9 Sep at 8:00am
Harvest Festival Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 9 Sep at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 13 Sep at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 16 Sep at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 20 Sep at 11:00am

Latest Events

The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 17 Aug 11:00am-1:30pm
Christ Church helping at the Genesis Sunday Centre
Sun 19 Aug 11:00am-3:15pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 24 Aug 11:00am-1:30pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 31 Aug 11:00am-1:30pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 7 Sep 11:00am-1:30pm