A liberal & inclusive church, seeking God through beauty in our worship, honesty in our faith & doubt, & service in our community

As described on our history webpage, Christ Church is not a parish church; it lies within the parish of Walcot St. Swithin’s. Before the 1870s and 1880s, Christ Church was not licensed to perform weddings or baptisms, so any members of the congregation would have had to use the parish church, which is less than a quarter of a mile away.

The parish registers of Walcot St. Swithin’s show that on 8th April 1816, William Wright married Rosa Ayliffe, a widow born in 1793 whose maiden name had been Stratford. In 1820, William and Rosa Wright moved to South Africa (with their children Martha and William, aged 3 and 1), where Rosa died many years later in 1867.

In her will, Rosa left sufficient money to build and endow a church in the South African town of Grahamstown, as a thank offering to God for the many blessings she had received in her adopted country. The church was named Christ Church and to this day it is overseen by a board of trustees, independent in some aspects yet in full communion with the Anglican Church of Southern Africa.

Sound familiar? We’ll never know for sure, but it is certainly possible that Christ Church, Grahamstown was partly inspired by Christ Church, Bath. A sister church in the southern hemisphere.


Upcoming Services

Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 25 Feb at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 1 Mar at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 4 Mar at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 8 Mar at 11:00am
Holy Communion (BCP)
Sun 11 Mar at 8:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 11 Mar at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 15 Mar at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 18 Mar at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 22 Mar at 11:00am
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 25 Mar at 10:00am
Eucharist followed by coffee
Thu 29 Mar at 11:00am
Agape Meal
Thu 29 Mar at 6:30pm
Good Friday Music and Meditations
Fri 30 Mar at 12:00pm
Sung Eucharist with Junior Church
Sun 1 Apr at 10:00am

Latest Events

LMG Lent Lunch
Thu 1 Mar 12:00pm-1:00pm
Lent book reading
Thu 1 Mar 1:15pm-2:15pm
The Cedar Tree Community Cafe
Fri 2 Mar 11:00am-1:30pm
Choir Practice
Fri 2 Mar 7:30pm-9:00pm
Christ Church helping at the Genesis Sunday Centre
Sun 4 Mar 11:00am-3:00pm